9th TMG GT86 Cup: Toyota Swiss Racing Team celebrates first victory of the season

The winning streak of Dörr-Motorsport at the TMG GT86 Cup has come to an end. In the race after their early overall cup victory, Arne Hoffmeister and Fabian Wrabetz reached the finishing line only in forth position. Surprisingly the Toyota Swiss Racing Team with Manuel Amweg and Thomas Lampert finished first before the Belgian Pit Lane Team with Bruno Barbaro or “Brody” and the team manager Oliver Muytjens at the steering wheel. The last podium position was taken by Kevin and Wolfgang Hönscheid (WH Motorsport).

Throughout the entire racing distance of four hours, the first Toyotas, passing the finishing line fought a duel really worth seeing. “During the entire race, we fought a direct duel. It is simply fantastic that Manuel Amweg as last driver ensured the lead once again during the last round, and in the end has brought home the victory. I am just happy right now”, says Roland Baumann. The lead of the victorious Swiss was a total of 14.517 seconds (preliminary result) at the end of the ninth and second last run of the season of the TMG GT86 Cup.

Whereas, Arne Hoffmeister and Fabian Wrabetz, the cup winners unbeaten up to this point of the season so far, were unlucky. “In the middle of the race, Arne Hoffmeister suddenly noticed a decreasing braking power, but was able to bring back the care to the box safely. However, the extensive repair has taken a lot of time, and thus it was clear to us that we no longer had any chances of winning the race. But, we did not want to give up, and moved from the last position to rank four in the cup rating after all. More was not possible this time, but that’s the way the cookie crumbles in motor sports. Something unforeseen can happen at any time”, said Uwe Isert, Team Manager at Dörr-Motorsport.

Nico Ehlert, Principal Engineer Customer Motorsport: „Congratulation to the first three. They have made a good job throughout the season and have certainly earnt their positions on the podium. But, of course, it is a pity that the defect devil has chosen Arne Hoffmeister and Fabian Wrabetz of all drivers at the end of the season, making their chances for the overall victory in the VLN much smaller now.”

Interested teams and drivers will find detailed information on the TMG GT86 Cup, including the latestrules and regulations, at www.gt86-cup.com. Royalty-free high-resolution images of the TMG GT86 CS-V3 and the TMG GT86 Cup can be found at: www.toyota-motorsport-photos.com