TMG GT86 Cup – Successful weekend for Dörr Motorsport


Successful weekend for Dörr Motorsport

Monday 22 July 2013

The fourth race of the TMG GT86 Cup, part of the VLN at the Nürburgring, saw a change at the top of the overall standings.

On July 20, in oppressive heat, it was Dörr Motorsport who dominated. For the 53rd ADAC Reinoldus long-distance race, of which the TMG GT86 Cup was a part, driver Arne Hoffmeister (from Lutter) in car No. 533 was supported by two guest drivers, Rudi Adams (from Ahütte) and Arno Klasen (from Karlshausen). The trio was very strong, clinching pole position before going on to win the race. At a total time of 4hrs 4mins 41.446secs, at the chequered flag their GT86 CS-V3 was almost three minutes ahead of the chasing pack, which was led by No. 536 of Theo Kleen (from Wiesemscheid) and Alexander Prinz (from Cologne).

Dörr Motorsport Team Manager Rainer Dörr: “We are really happy about this marvellous result. And the series is also very special because their excellent performance notwithstanding, the cars always run without problems.”

Arne Hoffmeister alternated between two cars and therefore not only won the race, he also ranked third in the No. 534 GT86 CS-V3 he shared with Fabian Wrabetz (Bad Soden) and Thomas Bolz (Bottrop). This second Dörr Motorsport car also had the honour of breaking the 10-minute barrer. At 9mins 59.918secs and an average speed 146.168 kph, the three drove the fastest TMG GT86 Cup lap on the Nordschleife.

Nico Ehlert, Principle Engineer Customer Motorsport at TMG: “The last race once again showed the strength of the TMG GT86 Cup. Thanks to the identical, and also dependable, technology it all comes down to the drivers’ skills, which means a lot of changes in the standings. I’m glad that this season we were able to win over new drivers for the Cup. That’s why we have already decided that we will extend the TMG GT86 Cup for at least two years, that is, until 2015.“

For the previous leaders, the weekend didn’t turn out to be quite as good. Jutta Beisiegel (Kaiserslautern) and Alexander Kudrass (Lohmar), who alternated in car No. 530 with Wolfgang Kudrass (Lohmar) and Martin Tschornia (Bestwig), came in fourth. In the overall standings, Jutta Beisiegel and Alexander Kudrass are only second now, even on points. The new leader is Arne Hoffmeister, but on 20 points only by a whisker; his competition is in hot pursuit on 19.92 and there are still six races to go.