TOYOTA GAZOO Racing Trophy starters prepare for long-distance classic

  • Currently 18 participants in the TOYOTA GAZOO Racing Trophy
  • Drivers eagerly await the ADAC Zurich 24-Hour Race season highlight
  • TMG United team also involved

The 18 participants in the TOYOTA GAZOO Racing Trophy are pushing ahead at full throttle to earn overall points in their respective series. The Trophy is currently led by Hermann Gassner Jr, who collected a total of 57 points with his GT86 CS-R3 with class wins at the Lavanttal Rally and the 7th ADAC Pre-Alpine Rally, taking his Trophy account to 89 points.

In second place in the ranking is currently Alex Fielenbach, with the GT86 CS-V3. He has banked 57 points so far after claiming class wins in both the VLN and RCN. Third place in the Trophy table with 40 points are Belgian drivers “Brody”, Jacques Derenne and Olivier Muytjens

New entries have also recently registered in the Trophy; Claudio Conforto Galli in the GT86 CS-R3 as well as Chris Chadwick and last year’s GT86 Cup champion Manuel Amweg who start in a GT86 CS-Cup car. They now also have the opportunity to compete against other GT86 race and rally cars across the different series and to win attractive prize money at the end of the season. In addition, the TOYOTA GAZOO Racing Trophy’s overall winner will earn a TOYOTA C-HR sponsored by TOYOTA Deutschland.

Florian von Hasselbach, Senior Engineer Customer Motorsport: “We are very happy about the new participants in the Trophy. But also the parts portfolio available to the teams has grown; among others we can now provide an improved braking system on the rear axle that offers lower weight and better braking performance. In collaboration with Ring Racing we will provide a parts and technical support during the ADAC Zurich 24-Hour Race and the remaining VLN races to the TOYOTA GAZOO Racing Trophy participants.”

The ADAC Zurich 24-Hour Race is considered one of the toughest, but also the most impressive races in the world. For many participants it also marks the season highlight. Six Trophy participants will start on 12 May  at the Nürburgring. In addition, the team TMG United joins for the first time this year, but outside the Trophy competition. It consists exclusively of employees of TOYOTA Motorsport GmbH, who use their spare time for this motorsport project. This year’s driver line-up consists of Alex Fielenbach, Adrian Brusius, Oskar Sandberg and Lars Peucker.

Team Manager of TMG United, Jörg Mertin: “So far, our drivers knew each other as competitors on the race track and friends away from the competition. Now for the first time they join one team. For three of them it is also the first 24-hour race ever, as it is for most of the team members. Now the entire TMG United team eagerly awaits the challenges of the race.”

Copyright-free, high resolution images of the TMG’s motorsport activities are available for media use on

You can follow TMG on Facebook (, Twitter (@TMGOfficial) or Instagram (toyotamotorsportgmbh) as well as our website,

TMG media contact: Evelyn Schostok, Communications Coordinator: